You Can’t ‘Apply’ The Training

Article from a 1978 Graduate Review, “Viewpoint: You Can’t ‘Apply’ The est Training.

…When I became a department chairman, shortly after taking the est training, I knew that what I had learned in the training could be applied to academic administration. Every time I tried to apply something however, it didn’t work. I would make a policy of open communication, for example. No good. At the same time, I noticed that whenever I simply did what seemed appropriate – just having open communication, say, without the policy – it worked beautifully. I was enjoying the job and being acknowledged as a good administrator.
Eventually it dawned on me that perhaps Werner had meant it when he said that the experience of the training wasn’t about “things.” It was about context and the experience of Self. I noticed that I had been trying to convert my experience of the training into things of substance: techniques, ideas, beliefs, philosophies, etc…  read more at https://archive.org/details/ViewpointGRAug1978

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

